Americaphiles

The Story Of My Fucking Life

Twenty-six

Posted by ilbebe on December 24, 2008

At the end of the day, all that matters is that you are with your loved ones. Safety and security pale in comparison to this necessity, and so does health. Think of it this way- if you are in a position of poor health, what will ultimately bring more solace- safety and security or the presence of a loved one? And in the same fashion, if your safety and security is threatened, will improved health bring more comfort than being surrounded by family and friends?

In the modern United States, I feel that far too large an emphasis has been puton safety and security, an emphasis so large that it dwarfs what I feel people should pay more attention to: maintaining close ties with your extended family, and building new friendships and expanding existing ones. I am fucking tired of not being to able to see my friends because they are tied up at work. I value money slightly less than processed cheese food, which may not be the best analogy, because I actually sorta like processed cheese food, but I think you catch my drift.

My girlfriend is flying in tonight, and I can’t wait. This notion about being near your loved ones was borne out of thinking about her in an airport, waiting to go through the security gate, but it progressed beyond that. I offer this posit: if you want to feel safer, remain in the constant presence of friends. Stop fearing strangers, stop voting like a racist. Open a bottle of grog and pass it around, if that’s your thing. It’s tempting to say stop being a Mormon, but what would I be if I couldn’t appreciate that faith’s emphasis on family and staying unwavering in your relationships with your friends, family and associates?

I believe in human intelligent design. I want to see the great deciduous forest that used to blanket much of the East Coast restored at the cost of dismantling all the Wal-Marts, but I am just as concerned as ensuring that no one is fearful of this change. Washington Mutual, and its parent company, JP Morgan-Chase, put 1200 people in Pleasanton, California out of work today. Fuck them. A shitty used clothing store in Berkeley, California, which will remain nameless, fired my friend Miles a few days ago. Miles was jumped and robbed and beaten by four men a few weeks ago. He’s down on his luck.

I prescribe to those 1200 freshly unemployed people in Pleasanton the same thing I am trying to give to my friend Miles: love and support from people you care about. Love cannot flow as power does, from the barrel of a gun. Love is all around us if we can stop counting our money long enough to see it.

Think about it- LOVE!! is ALL!! around!!

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOVE !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
